Features you want

Discussion in 'Report Forum Issues' started by Guard Dog, Apr 4, 2014.

  1.  
    slotplayer

    slotplayer Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    260
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    what happens is, I reply to a post, decide not to actually post it and leave the forum. I come back later and the post I typed earlier is still there in the reply box.
     
  2.  
    MacCOR

    MacCOR Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Doesn't seem to happen to me. Anyway, why not just delete what you typed from the box before closing the site? You make it sound as if you close the the forum leaving the post there, which for me seems an unusual thing to do.
     
  3.  
    slotplayer

    slotplayer Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    260
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    I've done that and when I come back and re-open the thread it shows an empty reply box, waiting for me to hit the post reply button.
    Its not a big deal. Probabally an IE 8 thing which support for, is being dropped all time.
     
  4.  
    MacCOR

    MacCOR Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    The reply box is always there below the topic though. I've attached an image, can you confirm if that's what you mean?

    (I hope Guard Dog doesn't mind me drilling the issue D: )

    Pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  5.  
    slotplayer

    slotplayer Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    260
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    I see that as well and if I type in editor and decide not to click post and come back later the text is still there.
    Even if I highlight the text and delete it, the next time I visit the forum the text is still there.
    maybe its the save draft feature. I'll have to try FF or Chrome when I get time to narrow it down.
    I've been trying to ditch using IE but old habits die slow.
     
  6.  
    MacCOR

    MacCOR Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Yeah, might be a browser thing then.
    I know switching is hard, but the difference is huge! I was always a fan of Opera, although I was forced to use Chrome on the side as a lot of pages did not work, which annoyed me a bit. Now Opera has received the "Chromium" update which basically makes it Chrome with Opera skin, lol. Good because more sites work, bad because they got rid of some features I liked.
     
  7.  
    slotplayer

    slotplayer Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    260
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    that's good to know about Opera, years back in the IE4 days when dynamic html was first emerging Opera has limited dhtml support . I remember talking to the Opera developers about it. I forget exactly what I was trying to do but just remember being bummed out that it was not supported.
     
  8.  
    sasa

    sasa Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Hi,

    I am visiting AGD and reading posts on daily basis, but I usually do it without logging in so I am getting red allert message with number of new post I didn't read. Is there way to dismiss the alert box?
     
  9.  
    Guard Dog

    Guard Dog Guard Dog Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    I think you have to be logged in to be honest. It would have to figure out some way to determine who you are to determine your alerts. Now - you can try the 'mark forums read' link. That *may* do it for you.
     
  10.  
    sasa

    sasa Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Yes, "mark forums read" button is what I needed. Thanks :)
     
  11.  
    Erik

    Erik Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Hi,
    i get a javascript error code when i try to make a topic.
    i wanted to make a topic about Affactive but it wont let me
     
  12.  
    tryme1

    tryme1 Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Yeah, got the same problem here - it's happening when I post a reply too but the reply does get posted.

    The error is:

    The following error occurred
    The server responded with an error. The error message is in the JavaScript console.
     
  13.  
    Online18Casino

    Online18Casino Affiliate Guard Dog Member

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    I get the same, screen shot attached!
     

    Attached Files:

  14.  
    Guard Dog

    Guard Dog Guard Dog Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    ok, I have put in a ticket with the developer.
     
  15.  
    KasinoKing

    KasinoKing Player turned affiliate.

    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    784
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    I had the same problem this-morning - twice.
    First time I managed to get my reply to appear after multiple tries (but ended up with a duplicate post).
    Second time I tried to start a new thread, but nothing I tried got it to work.

    If it doesn't work now, you will never read this! :eek:
    (Ended up with triplicate posts this time! Deleted the other 2).

    AGDerror.jpg
     
  16.  
    Guard Dog

    Guard Dog Guard Dog Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
  17.  
    Guard Dog

    Guard Dog Guard Dog Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Another test reply
     
  18.  
    Guard Dog

    Guard Dog Guard Dog Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    It all works now :)
     
    Bonus Paradise likes this.
  19.  
    Erik

    Erik Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    I seriously like this XenForo set-up a lot:)
    Its much beter then most forum software and it got a nice feel.
    I like to see chatrooms here.
    Different rooms like lets say.
    Affiliate rooms / managers corner whatever.
    Chatrooms are a cool way to keep direct contact
     
    Guard Dog likes this.
  20.  
    Guard Dog

    Guard Dog Guard Dog Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Chatrooms are tough. They require a VERY large active user base, IMO. Without that you mostly go in by yourself :)
     

Share This Page