Moving your site to another theme, anyone done it?

AidanLCFC

Affiliate Guard Dog Member
Reaction score
Looking for a bit of advice please as I'm looking to migrate a site but not sure the best way to go about it. Got one site I want to move from a manual HTML set up to using a wordpress theme and CMS. What's the best way to go about moving the site please? I've never done it before but want to give it a go

baldidiot

Reaction score
Yeah loads of times. We used to do a bunch of static html and basic php stuff back in the day - it's fast, no worries about updates or cms vunerabilities... problem is it's not that user friendly for content managers etc.. so had to switch. Also converted from joomla and so on after that went downhill.

Best way of doing it depends how big the site is and how the data is currently laid out. You can get plug ins that help with this kind of thing. Tbh if it's a small site you're probably faster just copy and pasting.

You can also probably hire people pretty cheaply to do it.

How big is the site? You keeping it exactly the same or using it as an opportunity to rejig things?

ddm

Former Member
Reaction score
@aidan

- 301s - old urls to new urls [.htaccess]
- add a sitemaps plugin
+ tell google [change of site address, new sitemap] via search console.

[for extra sanity, sign up for ahrefs for a week (good headless site audit tool). or use screaming frog, to make sure everything is in order]

AidanLCFC

Reaction score
Yeah loads of times. We used to do a bunch of static html and basic php stuff back in the day - it's fast, no worries about updates or cms vunerabilities... problem is it's not that user friendly for content managers etc.. so had to switch. Also converted from joomla and so on after that went downhill.

Best way of doing it depends how big the site is and how the data is currently laid out. You can get plug ins that help with this kind of thing. Tbh if it's a small site you're probably faster just copy and pasting.